Print Page | Close Window

Offside from a fumble...

Printed From: Scarlet Fever Llanelli Rugby Sport Wales Tickets
Category: RUGBY
Forum Name: ARE YOU BLIND REF.... OR ARE WE WRONG ???
Forum Description: Refereeing points of law questions and answers
URL: http://www.scarletfever.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=44342
Printed Date: 22 June 2018 at 12:38am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.04 - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Offside from a fumble...
Posted By: aber-fan
Subject: Offside from a fumble...
Date Posted: 26 March 2018 at 5:05pm
We all know that if a player knocks on, anyone in his team in front of him is offside if he handles the ball.

Recently, there have been a couple of occasions where players have fumbled the ball BACKWARDS, so no knock-on, but players in the same team who were in front of the ball have picked it up.

Is that an offside, or not? I'm a bit baffled about this one.


-------------
I share no-one's ideas. I have my own.
(Ivan Turgenev)



Replies:
Posted By: joni_bach
Date Posted: 26 March 2018 at 6:31pm
Surely they have to retreat in order to be able to pick up the ball, so that puts them back onside. 

Personally I get annoyed when nearly every fumble gets penalised for a knock on, regardless of what direction it goes in, seems to happen a lot lately. 


Posted By: Eastern outpost
Date Posted: 26 March 2018 at 8:50pm
Originally posted by joni_bach joni_bach wrote:

Surely they have to retreat in order to be able to pick up the ball, so that puts them back onside. 

Personally I get annoyed when nearly every fumble gets penalised for a knock on, regardless of what direction it goes in, seems to happen a lot lately. 
Ref wants a rest?

-------------
Any offence taken on board is only a literate/cy consequence. Every attempt at humour is just that. No personal insult intended. Standards lowered for trolls.


Posted By: RR1972
Date Posted: 29 March 2018 at 12:03pm
Originally posted by aber-fan aber-fan wrote:

We all know that if a player knocks on, anyone in his team in front of him is offside if he handles the ball.

Recently, there have been a couple of occasions where players have fumbled the ball BACKWARDS, so no knock-on, but players in the same team who were in front of the ball have picked it up.

Is that an offside, or not? I'm a bit baffled about this one.
 
nope you can't be offside if the ball goes backwards


Posted By: aber-fan
Date Posted: 29 March 2018 at 3:26pm
Originally posted by RR1972 RR1972 wrote:

Originally posted by aber-fan aber-fan wrote:

We all know that if a player knocks on, anyone in his team in front of him is offside if he handles the ball.

Recently, there have been a couple of occasions where players have fumbled the ball BACKWARDS, so no knock-on, but players in the same team who were in front of the ball have picked it up.

Is that an offside, or not? I'm a bit baffled about this one.
 
nope you can't be offside if the ball goes backwards

Thanks.


-------------
I share no-one's ideas. I have my own.
(Ivan Turgenev)



Print Page | Close Window

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.04 - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2015 Web Wiz Ltd. - http://www.webwiz.co.uk