FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Fonotia 3 week ban

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 19>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
aber-fan View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aber-fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Fonotia 3 week ban
    Posted: 03 October 2019 at 2:40pm
So, following on (formatting obliges me to write a 'new comment to add to the above) it seems that:

1. the description of the 'hand off' as being 'with the palm of the hand' has not changed AT ALL since I started playing in the 1960s, so the Aussie fend immediately fails this test as it was done with the fist/wrist/forearm,and 

2. it becomes foul play if 'excessive force' is used - that of course is a can of worms as it is open to interpretation, though I'd be of the view that the Aussie fend on Patch fails this test, too.
“You cannot reason a man out of what he never reasoned himself into.” (Jonathan Swift)
Sponsored Links

aber-fan View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aber-fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 October 2019 at 2:36pm
Originally posted by Fscarlet Fscarlet wrote:

Originally posted by GreyScarlet GreyScarlet wrote:

I looked at the Law on the 'hand off' .  Basically there is no definition of what is legal or illegal. This surely is something that needs to be addressed, as the interpretation for years was that it had to be an open hand leading the hand off.

I feel that if this was specified in the law it could be a major help to referees.

I, certainly from being penalised when playing last season (albeit at lower league), was under the impression if you hand off it must be with a straight arm. I.e. you can't go in for a hand off if your arm is bent & you then straighten it into the face/body of a would be tackler. 

Following on from this, I googled 'laws of RU' and came up with this definition:S