Scarlet Fever Llanelli Rugby Sport Wales Tickets Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > RUGBY > ARE YOU BLIND REF.... OR ARE WE WRONG ???
  New Posts New Posts
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login


Making a mark from the KO

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
aber-fan View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar

Joined: 25 October 2004
Location: Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 11987
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote aber-fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Making a mark from the KO
    Posted: 19 October 2015 at 7:36pm
This should be short - in one of yesterday's semis, a player caught the ball inside his 22 from a KO - I think the team messed up, and the commentator said: "He should have made a mark!"

Now, as far as I know you are not permitted to mark a KO.

Please confirm.

Second Q - if I'm right, what do ITV think they're doing employing amateur idiots to commentate on the RWC?
I share no-one's ideas. I have my own.
(Ivan Turgenev)
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
Eastern outpost View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar

Joined: 13 March 2012
Location: South Suffolk
Status: Offline
Points: 13763
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Eastern outpost Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 October 2015 at 7:39pm
Mrs EO was onto that remark in a flash, too.
Any offence taken on board is only a literate/cy consequence. Every attempt at humour is just that. No personal insult intended. Standards lowered for trolls.
Back to Top
scarletman View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar
Married with Kids - Close to Bankruptcy

Joined: 18 August 2004
Location: Costa del Tondu
Status: Offline
Points: 12130
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote scarletman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 October 2015 at 11:31am
Law 18
MARK
DEFINITIONS

To make a mark, a player must be on or behind that player’s 22-metre line. A player with one foot on the 22-metre line or behind it is considered to be ‘in the 22’. The player must make a clean catch direct from an opponent’s kick and at the same time shout “Mark”. A mark cannot be made from a kick-off, or a restart kick except for a drop-out.

A kick is awarded for a mark. The place for the kick is the place of the mark.

A player may make a mark even though the ball touched a goal post or crossbar before being caught.

A player from the defending team may make a mark in in-goal.

Herman Tours ... Still the best way to travel !
Back to Top
scarletman View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar
Married with Kids - Close to Bankruptcy

Joined: 18 August 2004
Location: Costa del Tondu
Status: Offline
Points: 12130
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote scarletman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 October 2015 at 11:35am
Originally posted by aber-fan aber-fan wrote:

This should be short - in one of yesterday's semis, a player caught the ball inside his 22 from a KO - I think the team messed up, and the commentator said: "He should have made a mark!"

Now, as far as I know you are not permitted to mark a KO.

Please confirm.

Second Q - if I'm right, what do ITV think they're doing employing amateur idiots to commentate on the RWC?

ITV & Rugby ....

Like Al Jazzera & Coronation St !
Herman Tours ... Still the best way to travel !
Back to Top
Wil Chips View Drop Down
Rambler
Rambler
Avatar

Joined: 23 August 2009
Location: Africa
Status: Offline
Points: 38334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wil Chips Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 October 2015 at 12:02pm
We need to re-title this thread 'ask Scarletman.

I learn something new every thread...

No idea, not one, that you could call a mark in goal.

Edited by Wil Chips - 21 October 2015 at 12:03pm
Back to Top
RR1972 View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar

Joined: 27 April 2009
Status: Offline
Points: 10389
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RR1972 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 October 2015 at 1:10pm
Originally posted by Wil Chips Wil Chips wrote:

We need to re-title this thread 'ask Scarletman.

I learn something new every thread...

No idea, not one, that you could call a mark in goal.
 
I suppose the fact you can touch the ball down and get a drop out 22 rather have to kick from behind goal line is why people don't do it,
 
didn't;t Shane Williams do it vs Scotland  from a cross kick a few years back?
 
 
Back to Top
aber-fan View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar

Joined: 25 October 2004
Location: Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 11987
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote aber-fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 October 2015 at 2:07pm
Originally posted by RR1972 RR1972 wrote:

Originally posted by Wil Chips Wil Chips wrote:

We need to re-title this thread 'ask Scarletman.

I learn something new every thread...

No idea, not one, that you could call a mark in goal.
 
I suppose the fact you can touch the ball down and get a drop out 22 rather have to kick from behind goal line is why people don't do it,
 
didn't;t Shane Williams do it vs Scotland  from a cross kick a few years back?
 
 

I can see how it might happen - if the player is watching a high ball, he may not be certain if he's in front of, or behind, the goal line.
I share no-one's ideas. I have my own.
(Ivan Turgenev)
Back to Top
aber-fan View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar

Joined: 25 October 2004
Location: Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 11987
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aber-fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 October 2015 at 2:11pm
Originally posted by scarletman scarletman wrote:

Law 18
MARK
DEFINITIONS

To make a mark, a player must be on or behind that player’s 22-metre line. A player with one foot on the 22-metre line or behind it is considered to be ‘in the 22’. The player must make a clean catch direct from an opponent’s kick and at the same time shout “Mark”. A mark cannot be made from a kick-off, or a restart kick except for a drop-out.

A kick is awarded for a mark. The place for the kick is the place of the mark.

A player may make a mark even though the ball touched a goal post or crossbar before being caught.

A player from the defending team may make a mark in in-goal.


Interesting - we do indeed learn stuff from this column!

If I understand right, then - no mark can be made if from a penalty or a free kick, the kicking team sends an up-and-under into the opposing 22 - is that right?
I share no-one's ideas. I have my own.
(Ivan Turgenev)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.04
Copyright ©2001-2015 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.