Scarlet Fever Llanelli Rugby Sport Wales Tickets Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > RUGBY > ARE YOU BLIND REF.... OR ARE WE WRONG ???
  New Posts New Posts
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login


Offside from charge down kick

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
aber-fan View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar

Joined: 25 October 2004
Location: Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 11987
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aber-fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Offside from charge down kick
    Posted: 15 February 2016 at 10:45am
One of a number of interesting issues from this week's 6N matches:

In Wales v Scotland, a Welsh player charged down a kick; another (Gethin, I think) who was in front of the 'charger' moved towards the ball and (if I remember right), engaged the Scot who'd got hold of the ball.

The ref's decision was penalty to Scotland for offside - which I agree with, BTW.

Oddly, one of the S4C commentators (Dafydd Jones? not sure) was absolutely insistent that you can not be offside from a charge down - he repeated this more than once.

Is he right? (My guess is that he's thinking of the situation where players upfield are put onside when an opposing player touches a kicked ball in flight - but this was different as both players were in the same team.)
I share no-one's ideas. I have my own.
(Ivan Turgenev)
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.04
Copyright ©2001-2015 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.