Scarlet Fever Llanelli Rugby Sport Wales Tickets Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > RUGBY > ARE YOU BLIND REF.... OR ARE WE WRONG ???
  New Posts New Posts
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login


Videos - Was the referee / TMO / Citing right?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 8910
Author
Message
ladram View Drop Down
Rambler
Rambler
Avatar

Joined: 08 April 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 22111
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ladram Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 1:36pm
Originally posted by ap sior ap sior wrote:

At the last moment before contact the Fijian does jump in to the tackle. That may save Ken. Players are coached to hit up. Arms used, not malicious. Unlucky in my view. 
if that tackle was the other way round we'd still be screaming in a fortnight,given some of the reds I think ken was very lucky to get  a yellow not red,look at any thread on here and some of our players are seen as whiter than white(ken not a dirty player mind)
30th june 1986- 30th june 2011.25 years roofing,i wouldn't call that dodgy.
Back to Top
Sponsored Links


Back to Top
greypower1 View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar

Joined: 04 December 2010
Location: Pwll
Status: Offline
Points: 2296
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greypower1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 1:42pm
The Fijian clearly lost control by trying to offload in the tackle.  Ken simply stood his ground and the Fijian toppled over him.  Simple laws of physics. Purely accidental.  What was Ken supposed to do, step aside and wave him through?
Keep the faith
Back to Top
ladram View Drop Down
Rambler
Rambler
Avatar

Joined: 08 April 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 22111
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ladram Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 1:45pm
Originally posted by greypower1 greypower1 wrote:

The Fijian clearly lost control by trying to offload in the tackle.  Ken simply stood his ground and the Fijian toppled over him.  Simple laws of physics. Purely accidental.  What was Ken supposed to do, step aside and wave him through?
I rest my case.
30th june 1986- 30th june 2011.25 years roofing,i wouldn't call that dodgy.
Back to Top
greypower1 View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar

Joined: 04 December 2010
Location: Pwll
Status: Offline
Points: 2296
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greypower1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 1:48pm
QUOTE=ladram]
Originally posted by greypower1 greypower1 wrote:

The Fijian clearly lost control by trying to offload in the tackle.  Ken simply stood his ground and the Fijian toppled over him.  Simple laws of physics. Purely accidental.  What was Ken supposed to do, step aside and wave him through?
I rest my case.[/QUOTE]

 
Wink
Keep the faith
Back to Top
aber-fan View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar

Joined: 25 October 2004
Location: Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 14886
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aber-fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 4:14pm
The decision was correct - Ken went in to make a 'normal' tackle and wrapped his arms - the Fijian's momentum carried him up and over... purely accidental.
I share no-one's ideas. I have my own.
(Ivan Turgenev)
Back to Top
royboi72 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 December 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote royboi72 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 7:48pm
My initial reaction was a stonewall red. After watching it again countless times, I haven't changed my view. He went into the tackle low, lifted the Fijian over his head and let go. Red card all day long and I wouldn't be surprised if Ken was cited.
Back to Top
ap sior View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2005
Location: Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 8577
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ap sior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 7:56pm
I wouldn't be surprised if he gets cited.

I also think the Fijian charge on Moriarty needs a further look. I'd be interested if there was another angles. The angle shown wasn't conclusive, but I've a feeling the hit was on the neck. 
Back to Top
Jones2004 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 September 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 26
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jones2004 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 8:38pm
Originally posted by royboi72 royboi72 wrote:

My initial reaction was a stonewall red. After watching it again countless times, I haven't changed my view. He went into the tackle low, lifted the Fijian over his head and let go. Red card all day long and I wouldn't be surprised if Ken was cited.
There’s two reasons I disagree with this. Firstly the Fijian was leaning so far forward that he flipped over wothout any added momentum from Ken. But most importantly he landed on his lower back and not the upper back/ neck area therefore reducing it from a red card offence to a yellow card one.
Back to Top
Mogwen View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar

Joined: 07 April 2013
Location: Yma o Hyd
Status: Offline
Points: 3333
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mogwen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 8:53pm
Knowing ken's reputation as a clean, hard player, this was reckless not deliberate. if any other player had done it, it would have been a straight red all day long. I hope hes not cited but wouldnt be supprised if he was.
The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.
Back to Top
ap sior View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2005
Location: Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 8577
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ap sior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 9:06pm
Originally posted by Jones2004 Jones2004 wrote:

[QUOTE=royboi72]My initial reaction was a stonewall red. After watching it again countless times, I haven't changed my view. He went into the tackle low, lifted the Fijian over his head and let go. Red card all day long and I wouldn't be surprised if Ken was cited.
There’s two reasons I disagree with this. Firstly the Fijian was leaning so far forward that he flipped over wothout any added momentum from Ken. But most importantly he landed on his lower back and not the upper back/ neck area therefore reducing it from a red card offence to a yellow card one.
[/QUOTE

The other factor that affected the outcome was the fact that it was an 'active' tackle. Ken's weight moved forward to hit the Fijian No 8. Had it been a 'passive' tackle where Ken allowed the Fijian to knock him back then the Fijian would have landed partially on top of Ken leading to a totally different outcome.

Back to Top
royboi72 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 December 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote royboi72 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 9:19pm
Originally posted by Jones2004 Jones2004 wrote:

Originally posted by royboi72 royboi72 wrote:

My initial reaction was a stonewall red. After watching it again countless times, I haven't changed my view. He went into the tackle low, lifted the Fijian over his head and let go. Red card all day long and I wouldn't be surprised if Ken was cited.

There’s two reasons I disagree with this. Firstly the Fijian was leaning so far forward that he flipped over wothout any added momentum from Ken. But most importantly he landed on his lower back and not the upper back/ neck area therefore reducing it from a red card offence to a yellow card one.


Firstly, take a look at Ken's body position before and after the tackle. He started low and ended up in a standing position. It had nothing to do with the Fijian leaning forward. Secondly, it doesn't matter that he landed on his back, it's the legs past the horizontal and being let go make this a red card all day long.

As has been mentioned earlier, if this had happened to one of our players we'd be up in arms about it. Time to take those one eyed specs off!
Back to Top
RR1972 View Drop Down
Veteran
Veteran
Avatar

Joined: 27 April 2009
Status: Offline
Points: 11257
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RR1972 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 9:27pm
It wasn’t a red due to the plAyer landing on his back not head/ nec k that’s the law isn’t it?Can he still get cited though?

Edited by RR1972 - 09 October 2019 at 9:27pm
Back to Top
royboi72 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 December 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote royboi72 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 October 2019 at 9:40pm
Originally posted by RR1972 RR1972 wrote:

It wasn’t a red due to the plAyer landing on his back not head/ nec k that’s the law isn’t it?Can he still get cited though?



Rule is legs being lifted past the horizontal, then let go, not which part of the body hits the floor. Yes, he can be cited if it's deemed the punishment given wasn't sufficient for the offence.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 8910
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.01
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.266 seconds.