Print Page | Close Window

Ref stops play for head knock

Printed From: Scarlet Fever Llanelli Rugby Sport Wales Tickets
Category: RUGBY
Forum Name: ARE YOU BLIND REF.... OR ARE WE WRONG ???
Forum Description: Refereeing points of law questions and answers
URL: https://www.scarletfever.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=46686
Printed Date: 05 October 2022 at 4:17pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.04 - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Ref stops play for head knock
Posted By: aber-fan
Subject: Ref stops play for head knock
Date Posted: 13 March 2022 at 2:41pm
I would really appreciate some clarification on this law from a qualified ref.

In this week's 6N - there were four occasions when head knocks occurred - twice, the ref stopped play immediately or very quickly - twice they didn't - including when Tomos Williams was down for Wales, and France scored their try.

I have just been watching the Lions v Blues game in SA - Lee-Lo took a clear bang to the head, but the ref allowed play to continue in his immediate vicinity - so it can't have anything to do with that - or can it?

If refs are 'supposed' to stop play after a head knock - but don't - should TMOs disallow any scores during the period when the man is down?

Where, exactly, are we with this?


-------------
“You cannot reason a man out of what he never reasoned himself into.” (Jonathan Swift)



Replies:
Posted By: Sir Duckling Tuft
Date Posted: 13 March 2022 at 9:37pm
Total mess isnt it, there has to be a balance if the ref thinks its serious otherwise there would be stoppages all the time as players are always down...but the tomos williams one stood out like a sore thumb, that was the crucial score that won france the game when we were down to 14 with a serious injury

-------------
sir duckling tuft



Print Page | Close Window

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04 - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd. - https://www.webwiz.net