Scarlet Fever Llanelli Rugby Sport Wales Tickets Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > RUGBY > ARE YOU BLIND REF.... OR ARE WE WRONG ???
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Offside from charge down kick
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Offside from charge down kick

 Post Reply Post Reply
aber-fan View Drop Down

Joined: 25 October 2004
Location: Wales
Status: Offline
Points: 18806
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aber-fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Offside from charge down kick
    Posted: 15 February 2016 at 10:45am
One of a number of interesting issues from this week's 6N matches:

In Wales v Scotland, a Welsh player charged down a kick; another (Gethin, I think) who was in front of the 'charger' moved towards the ball and (if I remember right), engaged the Scot who'd got hold of the ball.

The ref's decision was penalty to Scotland for offside - which I agree with, BTW.

Oddly, one of the S4C commentators (Dafydd Jones? not sure) was absolutely insistent that you can not be offside from a charge down - he repeated this more than once.

Is he right? (My guess is that he's thinking of the situation where players upfield are put onside when an opposing player touches a kicked ball in flight - but this was different as both players were in the same team.)
“You cannot reason a man out of what he never reasoned himself into.” (Jonathan Swift)
Back to Top
Sponsored Links

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.