Print Page | Close Window

Offside from charge down kick

Printed From: Scarlet Fever Llanelli Rugby Sport Wales Tickets
Category: RUGBY
Forum Name: ARE YOU BLIND REF.... OR ARE WE WRONG ???
Forum Description: Refereeing points of law questions and answers
URL: https://scarletfever.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=42188
Printed Date: 23 April 2024 at 5:27am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 12.04 - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Offside from charge down kick
Posted By: aber-fan
Subject: Offside from charge down kick
Date Posted: 15 February 2016 at 10:45am
One of a number of interesting issues from this week's 6N matches:

In Wales v Scotland, a Welsh player charged down a kick; another (Gethin, I think) who was in front of the 'charger' moved towards the ball and (if I remember right), engaged the Scot who'd got hold of the ball.

The ref's decision was penalty to Scotland for offside - which I agree with, BTW.

Oddly, one of the S4C commentators (Dafydd Jones? not sure) was absolutely insistent that you can not be offside from a charge down - he repeated this more than once.

Is he right? (My guess is that he's thinking of the situation where players upfield are put onside when an opposing player touches a kicked ball in flight - but this was different as both players were in the same team.)


-------------
“You cannot reason a man out of what he never reasoned himself into.” (Jonathan Swift)



Print Page | Close Window

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04 - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd. - https://www.webwiz.net